Posted in 2024, all about me

I’m Trying

st,small,507x507-pad,600x600,f8f8f8I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again – I’m sorry that I’ve been MIA. I had every intention of returning to blogging after a short break, but you know what they say about good intentions…..

road to hell

Which reminds me of a Darynda Jones quote:

7714752-Darynda-Jones-Quote-The-fact-that-there-s-a-Highway-to-Hell-and
image courtesy ofquotefancy.com

ANYWAY

I had no idea that my “short break” was going to last 9 months. Mrs. Kingsliegh may believe that “Time is a thief and a villain” but I cannot blame him. 

I would like to blame:

A. Writer’s block (or, in my case, writer’s ginormous boulder).

B. Grief (seriously Death, stop taking people I love – I have a whole list of people you can take instead).

C. Illness and/or death (not my own, so not really a valid excuse).

But the answer is

D. Adjusting to new jobs. Yes, “jobs” (not a typo). In the past 9 months I’ve been promoted twice. I’m not trying to brag (okay, maybe a little). After 12 years as a grunt I was moved to lead and then supervisor.  I went from peon to peer (pee-er?) because someone thought that putting me in charge of people was a good idea. It was weird and it threw me off my game. Of course, that’s assuming I had a game to being with – and we all know what happens when you make an assumption.*

But I’m back, and while I can’t promise that I’ll write on a regular basis, I can promise that I will try. I’ve always told my daughter that effort is more important than results, so the fact that I’m trying is good enough for me. Wait – that’s a lie (for those of you who are new to the page I lie a lot). “Trying” is not good enough for this perfectionist, but I’m trying to let it be enough for today. We’ll see what tomorrow brings. 

I’d like to leave you with my favorite New Year’s wish:

“May the best of your yesterdays be the worst of your tomorrows”

-Jay-Z

*Mitch Hennessey breaks it down for those of you who haven’t see The Long Kiss Goodnight

 

Author:

Fabulous Female searching for sanity while raising two children (a teenaged female and her father) in the Southern California suburbs.

One thought on “I’m Trying

Leave a comment