Who are You?

images4Today is supposed to be day 7 of the Blogging101 Learning the Fundamentals. I got started late so I’m behind, but you know what they say – “Better late than pregnant” (especially at my age). Yesterday was my day 2, so today I looked at the lesson for Day 3 – Learning to Use the Reader. I’ve been blogging for a while, and I thought I had this one down, but then I came across the section on “Lists”. I read and re-read the instructions, but I can’t quite get a handle on it. I suppose it’s because I’m an old dog.

 

thr44l0pl5

???

So I did what my teachers told me to do when I was taking a test. I skipped it, and will get back to it “later”**

Which takes me to Day 4: Identify Your Audience

This is a tough one. Before I became an Accidental Mother I was a performer. As an actress and comedienne, I had a hard time identifying my audience because they were (literally) in the dark. I knew they were out there, because I could hear them shifting, coughing, and opening candy wrappers (FYI, after watching Soapdish, I consider myself very lucky that I never tried my hand at dinner theater).

Trying to identify my blogging audience is almost as difficult as trying to see past the footlights to the theater audience. I recognize a few faces, but only those people who choose to sit in the front row. I’m doing to bring up the houselights for just a minute, so I can get a better look.

Wow. I feel a little like Hobo Kelly (for some reason, no matter how close I sat to the TV or how hard I waved, she never seemed to see me)

I see you (yes, you sitting at your computer in your pj’s and bunny slippers, hair still a mess, halfway through your second cup of coffee….) I see all of you – hippies and yippies, millennials and Gen X’ers, suburban soccer moms and PTA presidents, the freaks and geeks, oddballs and misfits, performers and worker bees, mothers (and fathers) to children of two legs and four. We are the ones who color outside the lines – the troublemakers and instigators, the rebels and rule breakers and everyone who refuses to be pigeonholed.

We are here the magic makers, here to create the world we want to live in.

We are the music makers,
And we are the dreamers of dreams,
Wandering by lone sea-breakers
And sitting by desolate streams;—
World-losers and world-forsakers,
On whom the pale moon gleams:
Yet we are the movers and shakers
Of the world for ever, it seems.

With wonderful deathless ditties,
we build up the world’s great cities.
And out of a fabulous story,
we fashion an empire’s glory.
One man, with a dream, at pleasure
shall go forth and conquer a crown.
And three, with a new song’s measure
can trample an empire down.

We, in the ages lying,
in the buried past of the Earth,
built Nineveh with our sighing
and Babel itself with our mirth.
And o’erthrew them with prophesying
to the old of the New World’s worth.
For each age is a dream that is dying,
or one that is coming to birth.

Arthur O’Shaughnessy

*For those of you who thought/hoped this post was about The Who – here you go:

 

**”later” could mean anything from “tonight” to “tomorrow”. See also “soon”.

 

2 responses to “Who are You?

  1. *waves hand* Thanks for picking me out 🙂 In the Venn diagram you described of your audience I’d be in the the messed up hair, second cup of coffee, millennial, yuppie, oddball, geek circles.

Leave a Reply

