To Twist or not to Twist, that is the question…

I am several days behind on the Blogging101 “Blogging: Learning the Fundamentals” course. I thought about hitting more than one lesson a day until I’m current. I am tired, fighting a cold and have writer’s block, so it sounds like too much work for today. For now, I will work one lesson at a time. It’s nice back here. I’m so far behind I think I’m first!

Day Two: Make Sure You Love Your Title

I thought about changing my blog’s title when I realized that my blog needed a reboot. I considered it for a nanosecond (not to be confused with nana second, the length of time it takes your grandmother to realize that you are Up To Something).

images7My instincts whispered that I should keep my title, and I ALWAYS listen to my instincts.*

In truth, I could have used a guide to suburbia when I first moved here. There are books about what to expect your first year of marriage, what to do when you’re expecting, how to handle the toddler years, but I couldn’t find one on how to survive suburban soccer moms in minivans or how to avoid joining the PTA PTSA.

The suburbs are scary, even if you have some sort of experience with them. I grew up in a small town (the same small town we live in now), but after a few years in the city I was afraid to buy a house in the suburbs, and not just because the houses all looked alike. 

There were too many perfect parents with perfect children living in perfect houses with perfect yards. TBH I spent the first month looking in the closets and under the bed for my Stepford duplicate.

stepford-wives1

The good news is that, with a little bit of detective work, I was able to find my tribe – the suburbanites who don’t quite fit, the parents with a slightly skewed sense of humor, the PTA moms who wear black to back to school night, the parents who go Drink or Treating on Halloween and the suburban soccer moms who drive jeeps instead of minivans.

Suburbia isn’t quite as scary when you twist it to suit you. Trust me.

I like my blog title and tagline, but I am open to suggestions. Let me know if you think of something that would be better suited.

11460_1167528866116_7109996_n[1]

*I almost said that with a straight face

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 responses to “To Twist or not to Twist, that is the question…

  1. thats not your hair is it gee thats nice ya yous kinda cool girl..

  2. Andrea Lederfine

    NOoooo! I vote, “No, do not change the name of your blog”.

    I love the name, the content (and the writer, to be honest)… It is fun & quirky, honest & revealing , and it TOTALLY (in my opinion) works, whether the content is that that you intended when you began it – the fun, funny, Erma Brombeck-typye humor/stories, or should your content take on the “darker side” of it your propsed reboot. “Twisting Suburbia”, totally works, either way….
    I say, “Trust your gut, leave it as is, and keep on writing!” I love your blog!

    • Thank you so much! I have to admit that my posts were meant to be more of a “Life is a rollercoaster, enjoy the ride” but there were too many similar posts. Time for a fresh start!

      And thank you for your love and support – love you too!

  3. Funny stuff! Drink or treat lol.

    • My girlfriend introduced me to drink or treating – she said that back home (Michigan) everyone carried a wine glass for “treats”. Out in Cali, I see parents with red solo cups :-). I highly recommend it!

  4. I don’t think you should change the name. It fits and is catchy.

    I keep waiting for my Stepford wife to show up. I am not going anywhere – but the extra help would be lovely πŸ™‚

  5. Your title and post were both hilarious!! I am excited to follow you! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

