The Other F-word

Confession[1]I have a confession to make. Seeing that I’m not Catholic and am extremely adverse to sitting in small rooms talking to strange men, I will make my public confession here. As soon as I can work up the nerve. Ok here goes –

I swear. A lot.*

This should come as no surprise to those of you who read my blog. Just last week, I admitted to swearing like a fleet of sailors. It certainly comes as no surprise to my friends and family. I have been swearing since I discovered the power of four letter words while I was in high school. My family and neighbors were regularly…..entertained (for want of a better word) by slamming doors and foul language screamed at the top of my lungs. I am (slightly) embarrassed to admit that my language hasn’t improved much since high school.  I will say, however, that I no longer slam my bedroom door (but only because my door is hollow and refuses to slam in a satisfying manner).

I use the F-word more often than any Responsible Adult should (which is not really a problem, since I admit to being neither), especially now that I am a suburban soccer mom who is raising an impressionable young teen. It is what it is. I find satisfaction in using the word, whether because it still holds shock value, or because I can’t find another word that expresses my feelings of impotency and frustration when dealing with the struggles that come along with this crazy rollercoaster we call life.

I think that I am finally giving it up for another F-word. It’s not a four letter word, but it does share similar qualities. People talk about it all the time, usually in hushed tones. Like my favorite F word, it makes people uncomfortable. Unlike my favorite word, this one’s power comes from something more than shock value.

I’m talking about forgiveness

From Miriam Wesbter:

forgiveness

noun for·give·ness \-ˈgiv-nəs\

Simple Definition of forgiveness

Popularity: Bottom 50% of words
  • : the act of forgiving someone or something

  • : the attitude of someone who is willing to forgive other people

I was amused but not surprised to find that the popularity of forgiveness is less than 50%. It’s a rough one. I would like to be able to say that, as an enlightened and loving being, I am quick to forgive and forget. I would like to be able to say it, but I can’t (well, I CAN, but I would be lying). I have been reminded, repeatedly, that forgiveness is powerful, life-changing, and very important to our physical, mental, emotional and spiritual health.

I have learned that, if you refuse to listen, Life will knock you down until you do – so this time, I am listening. I hope you do, too. Don’t forget the most important part of the lesson – forgiveness doesn’t mean forgetting, it means remembering and letting go

forgiveness[1]

 

*I was overjoyed to find out that Classysassycrazy shares my fondness for four letter words

 

 

10 responses to “The Other F-word

  1. Suzy Barker

    The image of you in the confession box made me chuckle. Great post.

    • Thank you so much. I find it … interesting.. that the idea of sitting in a box talking to an unseen priest gives me the heebie jeebies, but I have no problem confessing to a whole slew of strangers via social media…….

  2. Gah I swear way more than I probably should… wasn’t there an article circulating on Facebook claiming that science had determined people who swear more are more … intelligent/well adjusted whatever word they used.
    I wonder if that’s true…
    Someone commented on one of my posts claiming that it had to many swear words for her taste. Pffff

  3. I have a fuzzy memory of a Facebook meme – my search found that those of use who swear are everything from more articulate and intelligent http://uproxx.com/life/people-swear-articuate-intelligent/
    to more honest, loyal and upfront with our friends
    http://www.psych2go.net/people-swear-lot-tend-honest-loyal-upfront-friends/

    as for those people who think we swear too much? F-that! ;-D

  4. I’m with you sister!! On all of it…. lol

  5. Glad you’re with me-I can use the company!

  6. Yes! As a southern woman people cringe at my stunning vocabulary!

  7. I wish it wouldn’t be weird to use a confessional even if you weren’t Catholic, like you could just go in, say all the stuff that’s been bothering you, that makes you feel bad and they the Priest is all “Say a few Hail Mary’s and you’re good!” I wish you could do that in other things – been eating like crazy since the new year – Lord’s prayer – you’re fine now!

    Having the English ex-husband, I became desensitized to the C word, when someone says, this “C***ing spatula broke” the word lost it’s visceral punch in the stomach feeling. Luckily, it didn’t become common in my vocabulary, but I’m hoping the kids never pick it up!

  8. I had a ton of English friends when I was in college, and that DID seem to be one of their favorite swear words. The good news is that my not-quite 15 year old daughter STILL refuses to swear. I think I do enough for both of us.

    and wouldn’t it be nice if we could all go to confession? What a great idea!

  9. Pingback: The Other “Other F-word” | Twisting Suburbia

Leave a Reply

