Merry New Year!

imagesCA5RG2LUI know, I know, it’s been a long time since you read a post from me, and you were hoping that they’d stopped have been missing them.  Well, just like the spirits in Poltergeist, I’m baaaaaaaack. Hopefully (unlike the sequel) I am entertaining.

 

I meant to welcome you to 2016 yesterday, but it didn’t happen. After being derailed by the events of 2015, I planned on starting 2016 with an early morning hike, some cleaning, and a brand new post. They say the road to hell is paved with good intentions – and if that’s true, then hell is a warm bed, the entire Hobbit/Lord of the Rings series on the DVD player, and a set of supersoft Christmas PJs. The first day of the year was spent snuggling with my family and feeding my imagination with elves, dwarves, dragons and hobbits. Hell is a pleasant place to be.

The past year has been challenging. TBH (look at me, learning to use acronyms – yep! I have a teen!) the past four years have been less than pleasant, and not only because I have a teen. You know that phrase “That which doesn’t kill you makes you stronger?” Well, I am an Amazon queen! We’ve had challenges (work and health) and scares (our year started with my husband almost-dying in a car accident and ended with him almost-dying in a hospital stay). We’ve had frustration (why do all appliances break down at the same time? How do they know?) and heartbreak (even my cell phone misses Jackie and keeps dialing hers at random moments). Mostly, we’ve had moments of hope and joy, glimmers of goodness and tons of support from friends, family, coworkers and strangers. I’ve learned that life is a rollercoaster – with ups and downs, twists and turns. All you can do is sit down, strap in, and try not to throw up on the person next to you.

Work has lived up to its reputation as a four letter word, but I have kept myself from running with scissors or stabbing people with pencils, mostly because I took 3 months off to recover from ACL surgery. 12+ years ago I finished tearing my ACL. The ortho told me “Don’t have surgery until you absolutely have to” (actually, he said “We don’t normally perform surgery on people your age”, but he was kind of an a**). I gave up refereeing this past year, because my knee hated it (or because I hate soccer parents. I forget which). When my knee began sliding at random moments, I thought it might be time for surgery. The good news is that there’s no arthritis and that my bones no longer slide in different directions. The bad news is that I am no longer twenty something and the healing process is slower than I would like. I am trying to be patient (but mostly I am just Trying). I had planned on using my time at home to clean, paint, and finish my WIP. I managed to do a little cleaning, a little reading and a LOT of napping. Not sure if that was because I was recovering from surgery, or because old people nap.

I know we are not the only family that has had a rollercoaster year – I am hoping that this post finds you healthy and happy, and that 2016 treats us a little more gently – people our age aren’t supposed to ride rollercoasters.

6 responses to “Merry New Year!

  1. Love this so much!!!!

    http://fashionforlunch.net

    https://www.instagram.com/labelsforlunch/ (I just hit 30,000 followers on there!!!!)

  2. Hi Tracey,
    I love your humor and your parenthetical asides. Thanks for some good grins. Hoping your ACL improves and that you won’t have to face those soccer moms anymore either. Sorry to hear about your husband’s near death experiences both opening and closing the year. Yes, I can see how you’d become an Amazon warrior woman!
    Loved your last line, “People our age shouldn’t be riding rollercoasters.” 🙂
    Happy Saturday!
    Amy

    • Thank you! I have to say that “almost” is now my favorite word. We are able to laugh about it now (“But I don’t want to get on the cart!”), but I have some extra grey hairs. It’s okay,means he owes me…. 😀

  3. Great post. I love your energy! I hope your ACL makes significant improvement. My 2015 was pretty challenging as well. It was full of challenges and a few blessings, too.

    • Thank you. I am trying to be patient (I am, after all, only 4 months in to a 12 month recovery period). 2015 was challenging to a lot of people I know – we are cautiously optimistic about 2016. Blessed new year to you!

Leave a Reply

