Hope, Lost and Found

OnceYouChooseHope[1]“Whoever said life is fair?”

That was my mother’s favored response whenever I whined “…but it’s not fair!” As a mother to a teenaged girl, I’ve said it more than once myself. My daughter responds the same way I did at her age – with an eye roll, a huff of exasperation and stomping feet. I understand her frustration, both with my response and the situation.

I’ve been reminded that life isn’t always fair several times in the past couple of months (more than several times, to be honest). Evidently I have a life lesson that I am Just Not Learning. I have reached a point in my life where loss is a constant. Loss of material goods (and yes, I know that stuff is just stuff, and that I can’t take it with me), loss of health (not my own, say I, as I cross my fingers, knock wood and spit for luck), loss of life (again, not my own), loss of hope. The last one is my own. My husband lost his job several months ago, and it’s been….a blessing, I suppose.

We are learning that time is just as valuable a commodity as money. We are spending less AND more. We spend less time doing things that cost money: less time watching television, less time surfing on the computer, less time eating in restaurants and shopping at the mall. We spend more time doing things that matter: more time talking, more time laughing, and more time playing.

My husband and I are returning to the early days of our courtship, when time was all we had. I am rediscovering things about my husband that (after twenty-six years) I’ve long forgotten or taken for granted. He makes me laugh. After all these years together, he can still take my breath away with a look, and he gives me hope. So I guess I haven’t lost it after all.

6 responses to “Hope, Lost and Found

  1. Very poignant and applicable to a lot of people’s lives, including my own

  2. “We are learning that time is just as valuable a commodity as money. We are spending less AND more” …. Beautifully said. I am getting this life lesson as well right now. It was by choice through deciding to leave my job and stay home with the kids. I didn’t really understand the choice and what it would teach me or lead me in to discovering until now. And I am just beginning.

    • Congratulations on your new adventure. All I can say is that life after motherhood has become a rollercoaster, and encourage you to sit down, hang on, and enjoy the ride (it goes fast) ❤

  3. Pingback: 15 Shades of Grey* ** | Twisting Suburbia

  4. Pingback: Fork, yeah! | Twisting Suburbia

Leave a Reply

